Home > Thoughts > Re-posting.

Re-posting.

I was reading through my old posts this morning, just remembering things that have happened over the last couple of years, when I came upon this old post. And I liked it so much that I decided to re-post it. Not for any reason in particular, but more because it just reminded me of a book that I loved. Now I need to read it again.

“She had something in common with him, the possibility of spending Christmas alone with nothing for company but a big book. And something else: a kind of stillness in the face of being left. She had friends, she had her work, but in some essential way the important thing had already happened to her. I was back, yes, but I didn’t ever want to feel that way, that there was nothing new up ahead.

‘Are you lonely now?’

She looked over at me, my mother in her burgundy linen work dress, glasses hanging from a cord around her neck. She shook her head. ‘Lonely is a funny thing,’ she said slowly. ‘It’s almost like another person. After a while, it’ll keep you company if you let it.’ “

Ann Packer, “The Dive From Clausen’s Pier”

I realize I just posted all about this book, but I felt like this deserved it’s own post. I love this scene. I’m not sure why.

Categories: Thoughts Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment