Home > Uncategorized > Way back, Texas.

Way back, Texas.

I believe that my initiation back into Texas is complete.

In the last 6 days I have driven from Midland to Lubbock and back to Midland and back to Lubbock. Then I rode in a car from Lubbock to Winnsboro, a small town in East Texas.

It was amazing.

The drive to Lubbock from my home town is so familiar I could do it with my eyes closed and with my knees steering. I love the drive. Once I’m past Lamesa I stare out the window. I love the way the sky is huge and the land stretches out as far as you can possibly see. Further, even. It’s beautiful. I’ve missed it more than I thought. My heart finally felt still.

I knew the adjustment from Boston back to Texas would be difficult. And I was right.

It has been hard driving everywhere again. (Buying a car was an adventure and a migraine.)

I miss walking.

I miss the fresh clear air.

Mostly I miss the satisfaction of knowing I am completely on my own. It’s been so hard to come home and live under my parent’s roof. It felt as though nothing had changed, as though I’d never left and I hated that feeling. I needed something to change. I think it needs to be me.

But the last week finally put me at peace with this move.

I bought a car, went on multiple road trips, secured my job and put down a deposit on an apartment. I’ve spent time with people I love dearly and have missed more than anything the last four months. I danced at my very best friend’s wedding and drove across the state for another friend’s wedding. I swam in beautiful Texas lakes, soaked up the scorching sun. I rode on a motorcycle way too fast on those winding East Texas roads with the land spilling out on either side of me. It was phenomenal.

It’s good to be home. Boston will be in my heart for a long, long time. But hopefully this was the right move.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 25, 2010 at 8:26 am

    It definitely sounds like you made the right choice–I’m excited for all that is coming your way!

  2. Chris
    May 25, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    You made the right move. I’m so happy to have you back!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

