Home > Uncategorized > Rubblebucket.

Rubblebucket.

Last night was what will most likely be my last night out in Boston.

It. Was. Effing. Amazing.

I met a friend at this bar called Church which is in the Fenway area. Neither my friend nor I had been there before, so we thought we were going to a quiet little bar where we could sit, grab a drink, chat and say good-bye.

Boy, were we wrong.

We walked in the door only to be slammed with a $12 cover. Friend and I looked at each other, shrugged and decided, “What the heck ? Let’s do it.” We figured there would be something interesting going on and thought it might be worth staying around for.

And, oh my goodness. I’m normally not into funky music, but this was one of the coolest bands I’ve ever heard. They were called Rubblebucket, and were a 9-piece psychedelic rock band. It was amazing.

The band was made up of a drummer, saxophone, trombone, trumpet, keyboard, guitar and bass guitar. And maybe something I can’t recognize.

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I saw all those instruments on the stage, and was a little dubious as to what the overall effect would be, but wow. Just…WOW.

They blasted the music and beat their instruments  and blew with such fervor.

It was captivating. I love music events like that; there’s nothing else but the music. Nothing.

I love how it filled up each and every part of me, forcing me to dance and jump and just feel the music. I know I sound like a hippie drone, but come on…so incredible.

The last song was the best. The band members who were playing the horns (trumpet, trombone and sax) leapt off the stage and wove throughout the crowd.

People. Went. Nuts. It was the most intense moment ever.

I’m going back tonight. I want and need to dance it out some more.

These are the types of things that make me want to stay forever in Boston. I can’t see this group coming to Boston.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

