Home > Boston...again. > This week got away from me.

This week got away from me.

It’s been a week since I last posted, and that makes me so very sad.

Life has been crazy. Life has been beautiful.

Boston has been enjoying a few days of perfect spring weather. Right at this moment it’s a blissful 74 degrees outside. The birds are chirping and the trees are beginning to blossom with fresh buds.

Unfortunately, I am inside and working on my first press release for my writing job. That’s OK, though. I’d rather be writing right now.

I wanted to take a break and update you all (y’all) on life.

Work at the flower shop has been pretty good so far. Thursday I worked at the shop in Beacon Hill, where most of the orders are placed and arrangements are made. My boss wanted me to learn how to put flower arrangements together. Unfortunately, I am not a natural at it, but I will learn. I’m determined.

Easter weekend at the shop was absolutely insane. My fingers stopped working at one point and I could barely tie bows anymore. That was a bad half-hour.

My bosses left town for a week, which is kinda cool, but it means I have another week of working double shifts. That means that Tuesday through Friday I’ll be at the shop about 11 hours each day. Then Saturday I work all day again (12 hours) and then all day on Sunday. At least I’ll be banking when these pay checks come in.

The downside is that it means I have no life outside of the flower shop and my bed. When I get off work I usually stumble to the T stop in Copley, doze off on the way home and then fall into bed the second I walk in the door to the apartment. It’s a quiet little life, but at this point I don’t think I’d trade it for anything.

On the social life front, however, things are a little more rough. Like I’ve said before there are two sides to this experience. One side, the one I’m trying to focus on the most, is making it in the city. So I’ve at least opened the door to that and have started writing, which is significant.

The other side to this is trying to meet new people and go out and do more things. I’m finding that a little more difficult. Although work keeps me so busy, when I do have a little down time I want to try to find something to do. This is when it gets hard. If I were in Texas it’d be no big deal. I would basically have my pick of three of my best friends and we’d go get coffee, go shopping, or just chill out.

But here? Here things are different. This is when I miss being in school. I miss the built-in set of friends I had from classes and stuff.

So if you guys have any suggestions on how to un-creepily meet people I’d love to hear them.

Categories: Boston...again. Tags: , , , ,
  1. Her
    April 7, 2010 at 8:08 am

    I don’t want to sound creepy either, but I’d love to meet up sometime. I just moved to Cambridge and work as a photographer, so I have a really flexible schedule. Just let me know!

  2. April 9, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    Hello friend! I’m seriously not trying to sound cliché, but finding a church might be a great place to meet friends your age and in similar situations (starting a “big person” life) and not be creepy about it 🙂 Love you so much and enjoy your sweet comments on facebook and the blog!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

