Home > Boston...again. > I’m doing things my way.

I’m doing things my way.

I feel like there are two sides to this Boston experience.

One is to pursue the “dream.” To eventually become an editor in some big-shot publishing house. Which takes work. And contacts. And also, I’m beginning to think, it takes being established.

The other side, and the more appealing side, is to pursue my other dream: To live in a big city all by myself, away from family and anything familiar, and make it on my own. On my own terms.

To me, breaking away from everything like that is beautiful. That’s what’s important to me right now. Yes, I know, I should be wanting to find the permanent job, but right now I don’t feel like permanence or stability is exactly what’s good for me right now. I’m 21. I graduated college early. I want to continue experiencing things here and getting a taste of what it’s like to live freely in a new place. I want to work two crappy jobs at once and always be exhausted. But happy. It would make me happy.

I know in a recent post I wrote that I want to be part of “corporate America.” And yeah, that’d be a great thing. But I’m just not ready to dedicate my whole life to a career yet. I’m not. Call it immature; call it selfish. Call it whatever you want. But one of those things is going to have to be put on hold. I can’t do both at once.

Did you ever think that maybe since I am so young and in my 20s that I’m still trying to figure out exactly what it is I want? There’s time and room for my dreams to change. Maybe my dream of being an editor, as pristine as it is, is something I used back in Texas to give me a sense of direction. Maybe I clung to that scenario so that I could just imagine myself getting out of Texas. Chew on that.

So for now, I’m going to enjoy the time I am spending here. I’m not saying I’m going to be content to work a crappy job forever. But for six months or a year? What’s it really going to hurt? It’s not. It will give me the opportunity to continue moving around if I want to. There’s nothing better or more freeing than that.

Yeah. This all came from a job interview I had today and then a conversation following. I don’t know. It’s been a weird couple of days.

Here’s a Boston anecdote: I saw a fight on the T today. It was quite possibly the best and most frustrating and most frightening ten minutes of my life. Ready? Good.

So. I had a job interview today. It was on Dartmouth Street, and I had to take the T to the Copley station. So when I left my apartment this morning I thought, “Hm. It’s so pretty out and the train isn’t at the stop yet, so I’m going to take the time to walk to Brigham Circle to catch it.” So I did. And then I waited at Brigham Circle for about ten minutes until the train got there.

Here’s where things started happening.

I board the train, all the while chatting on the phone with my mom. It was hard to pay attention, so I really should have just waited to have this conversation later. Especially when the conductor started yelling. Apparently the PA system on the train wasn’t working, so he was trying to let everyone know that the train would be running express to Symphony.

I’m thinking, “Sweet. I’ll get to Copley that much quicker. Awesome.”

My mom’s thinking, “Dear God, there’s a fight. Katie. Maybe you should move. Katie? Katie?” (As I mentioned earlier, it was really hard to pay attention.)

So I said, sweetly, “Mom. It’s ok. He’s just making an announcement. He has to yell to be heard.” No big deal, right?

The train continues to sit in the station, unmoving. People are getting restless and start twisting around in their seats to look out the window and see if something is going on.

Of course, because it’s Boston, something is happening. And the something that’s happening is an elderly black woman in a wheelchair who is boarding. Yelling profanities and insults at the conductor because he didn’t get her onto the train quick enough. And apparently, he was rude to her. And stupid. And myriad of other things. And when she found out the train would be running express to Symphony? Watch out. Unleashed.

So because that woman was so upset the transit authority guys had to listen to her complaints. The train sat for another ten minutes while she finished up her long-winded tirade. Another old woman, apparently sick of the hold-up, decided to start insulting the woman in the wheelchair, asking her to “shut up and stop talking already so this train could get going.” Because she had places to be. Like the rest of us didn’t. Well, the woman in the wheelchair? Yeah. She didn’t like that one bit. It got a little ugly.

Finally, finally, the train started moving. (Lucky I left for my interview way early, right?) The woman in the wheelchair demanded, screaming, that she had to get off the train at Northeastern, which is the stop before Symphony. And after the sweet conductor helped her off the train, do you think she thanked him? Ha.

I believe I heard “You stupid son-of-a-B****” from her as she zoomed away. Poor conductor-man. At least he was laughing when he got back on the train.

I made sure to tell him to have a great day when I exited at Copley.

Whew. Interesting ride, for sure.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

