Home > Uncategorized > Random acts of kindness.

Random acts of kindness.

People’s capacity for kindness never fails to surprise and amaze me.

In one of my recent posts I wrote about homelessness and the man laying on the sidewalk and about how I never know how to deal with it. I’ve never really been around it. I never know what to say when I’m asked for change or a dollar or my coffee.

It makes me feel like a horrible person sometimes.

But today I saw something pleasing. Maybe it was the hint of spring in the air or maybe it was just because it was Sunday (and you’re supposed to love people on Sundays, of course), but people seemed to be acting unnaturally kind toward people today.

I saw one family who gave their entire meal of burritos to a man sitting on the street. He had a sign that said “Homeless veteran, please help.” I slowed down a little so I could see what his reaction was to this gesture. I’ve heard of some people getting picky with what they get, but this man? Oh, this sweet man. His face lit up. He smiled hugely. He reached out for it and thanked them profusely as they walked away. It was genuine and it made my heart hurt. I’ve never seen someone so grateful for a burrito. He unwrapped it slowly, as though savoring the entire experience.

I thought that was amazing.

Then not two minutes later I saw a man and a woman sitting on the steps outside of Wendy’s, the fast-food restaurant. The man was rough looking, and wore ragged, torn clothes and had a scraggly beard. The woman, though, was dressed very nicely. She was sharing her meal with him. I couldn’t believe it. I’d never seen anyone be that kind before.

It would have made a beautiful picture. Can you see it? It would have made me think about the lengths people will go to to help others, especially when it’s least expected.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

