Home > Uncategorized > Sweet little surprises.

Sweet little surprises.

Tonight I received encouragement and direction from a most unexpected source: a fortune cookie. As I am a firm believer in all things whimsical–I am the girl who wishes at 11:11–I would like to also believe in the outcome of this hopeful fortune. I hope telling everyone what it is doesn’t negate the effects.

“You will obtain your goal if you maintain your course.”

Woah. Really? That, in my opinion, actually was some insightful stuff for a measly fortune cookie from a second-rate Chinese food joint. But it warmed my heart. Because it’s little signs like that, little occurences that make me believe in what I’m doing. I feel like it was a little nudge that says, “Hey, no worries. Just keep doing what you’re doing and you’ll be fine.” I know everyone has been incredibly supportive of me, and I appreciate that to no end, but it’s nice to get the subtle enouragements. Such as from a fortune cookie. It was a sweet little surprise.

I came to an uneasy realization today: I want to be a part of corporate America. Seriously. In a weird, it’s-time-to-grow-up-a-little way, I want to be a part of something.

I came to this conclusion this morning after receiving a call from a headhunter of sorts who found my resume on Monster and called about an open position at a company in Boston. Of course I was a bit skeptical after recent events, but if I’m given an interview, I’ve decided I’ll definitely take it. He told me some aspects of the job, and it’s one of the typical 8-5, work all day, be the lowest one on the totem pole type job.It’s along the lines of what I’ve actually been looking for, so I was surprised. That’s fine with me.

Actually it’s more than fine. The intensity with which I want this interview frightens me, because frankly, I’m at a loss. I’m ready for a big-girl job, to a point. I want to be one of those people on the T early in the morning, groggy, bleary-eyed and clutching a gallon of coffee. I want to be grumpy from lack of sleep. I wouldn’t mind cutting short the nights out on the town. (For a while anyway. Then I’ll just deal.) I want to wear the crisp business suits and awesome clothes and feel like I’m actually somebody. Like I’m actually doing something instead of just reading my life away. I want to come home each day knowing I’ve done something important and contributed to a cause. I just feel ready.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

