Home > Uncategorized > Kids are lucky.

Kids are lucky.

I miss being a little kid. Don’t you, ever? When I was a kid, the sky was the limit.

In my backyard in Midland we had a swingset that was against the back wall of our house. Any time I swang (swung? went swinging?) I would pump my little legs as hard as I could to make that swing go as high as it could. When I was on the swing I felt like it was as close as I could get to flying. I used to dream of lifting gently out of that seat and floating over the back fence, over the alley and over the neighbor’s huge pine tree. I never thought about where I would go after I went over that tree though. I wonder why.

Anyway, the gist of this is that little kids are lucky. They have the capacity to dream and believe in a way that we, as “adults” (blah.) do not. I’ve always been called the ‘innocent’ one in any group of friends I had, but I miss the genuine innocence of childhood. I liked not knowing things could go wrong.

I don’t like being cynical. I don’t like it when I’m forced to confront reality. Make-believe is so much better. I can play that game.

Sigh. Anyway.

I want to hang this on my wall.

“you shall above all things be glad and young
For if you’re young,whatever life you wear

it will become you;and if you are glad
whatever’s living will yourself become.”

–E. E. Cummings

I have developed a recent obsession with E. E. Cummings. It is bad. But not really, because he was an extremely talented poet. If I had any artistic inclination I would come up with a creative and fitting way to get that short poem onto my bedroom wall.

Speaking of my bedroom, I finally decorated it a little yesterday. I figured that since I was sick and would be spending the day in my room there was no better time to brighten it up. Especially since it was such a dreary and rainy day outside. I put pictures up on the walls, and it’s amazing how much that did to make my room just a little friendlier. I love it.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

