Home > Boston...again. > “It’s hot in Texas ALL the time!”

“It’s hot in Texas ALL the time!”

The title of my post today is what I overheard as I was walking down Huntington Ave. Whom it was said by, a trio of persons of Asian descent, made this obviously ignorant statement quite funny. Honestly? I thought about stopping them and informing them that Texas, although not as cold as the East, gets damn cold. Of course, every time I make that claim and reinforce it with the fact that Tech closed school a few days ago, someone snorts and says: “What, for two inches?” And then I’m forced to re-evaluate my claim.

Ah, Boston.

I have to say though, people are more friendly here than I imagined they would be. It’s refreshing. Striking up conversations with strangers is fun. I love it. I had one of those just a few minutes ago, as I was walking to the Prudential Center to go to the Barnes and Noble. Here’s the gist of it:

Me: Walking, listening to the three boys on the left blab on about why there’s no water in the reflecting pool at the Christian Science Church center.

Boy 1: I want to make a speech in this square. It’d have to be about Christianity and about science. Then when it’s over I’d run through the reflecting pool with people applauding on either side of me.

Me: (giggle)

Boy 2: I wonder why there’s no water in the pool!

Me: (looking over, because it sounded like he was talking to me) HUH? (In my defense, he was looking right at me) (I seriously need to come up with a better word than ‘Huh? ‘ Agree?”

Boy 2: Oh, sorry I was talking to my buddies. But DO you know why there’s no water in the pool?

Me: No, I know absolutely nothing. I just moved here.

Boy 2: Oh, yeah? From where?

Me: Texas.

Boy 2: What part?

Me: West. (Excuse if I sounded curt, but seriously? A girl’s gotta be a little careful.)

Boy 2: Oh, I was stationed in San Antonio when I was in the Army. Blah blah blah.

Boys 1 and 3: (Yelling in the midst of Boy 1’s and mine conversation) Just so you know, Angel’s the nicest guy you’ll ever meet!

Boy 2: (In his defense, he was actually very sweet.) So how long you been in Boston?

Me: 3 weeks.

Boy 2: Do ya like it?

Me: I love it.

Boy 2: By the way, my name’s Angel.

Me: I’m Katie.

(shake hands)

Boy 2: Where are you headed?

Me: Barnes and Noble in the Pru.

Boy 2: Oh, that’s my favorite place to hang out. You a fiction or non-fiction girl?

Me: Definitely fiction.

Boy 2: Oh. I’m a non-fiction guy.

(At this point, we start breaking away from each other to go in different directions. Although it’s nice to talk to people on the street, I don’t really want them following me to my destination.)

Me: Well, it was nice to meet you!

Boy 2: You too!

(Now definitely heading away from each other)

Boys 1 and 3: Bye, Texas!

Bye, boys. Thanks for making my day. And thanks for the common nickname.

It was only a few minutes, a chance meeting. But it’s things like that that really make my day sometimes. I love having the opportunity to meet so many different people. You never know what can happen or who will cross your path at any given time.

I know that people reading this might be horrified that I talk to random people. But here’s the thing: If you never talk to anyone, how are you going to allow yourself to be open to new experiences? Yes, terrible things happen, but you have to know, I was aware of where I was and who was around me the entire time during this quick exchange. You can’t live your life in fear. You’ll never go anywhere.

That was my Boston anecdote/funny story (ok, it’s not that funny) for the day. Now on to some serious updates of my activities for the last few days.

Yesterday was the most delightful Sunday I’ve had in a long time. I slept in and then got up and took the T out to Copley Square, which, by the way, is one of my favorite spots in the city so far. I wanted to go in the library and explore, mostly because it’s such an incredible building on the outside. I had to know what was on the inside. And it was worth my time. I didn’t spend a huge amount of time in there, but I have to say, the architecture of that building is beautiful. I Loved it. And I loved knowing how old and historical it is.

After the library I decided I would wander for a while. I didn’t have anything I absolutely HAD to do yesterday, so I wanted to lose myself in the streets and the sights. And I did. I walked up and down Newbury Street and dreamed of the day I could shop there without conscience. Yes, I know how incredibly shallow that sounds, but seriously, have you SEEN Newbury street? It’s a fashionista’s paradise. Not that I am calling myself a fashionist; I Know that I am anything but. It’s still fun to dream though.

After Newbury Street I meandered down to the Boston Public Garden. I walked through and watched people playing ice hocket on the frozen pond where the swan boats are. The sight of frozen bodies of water STILL fascinates me. I don’t know if I will ever get used to it.

Anyway, I walked through most of the paths in the garden. I found a place called the Garden of Rememberance, which is a memorial to the Boston or Massachusetts residents (I can’t remember which) who were killed in the 9/11 attacks. It was a beautiful memorial.

After that I walked up the street toward the Boston Common. I stopped in the Central Burying Ground, most because I’d never seen the gate open before and felt compelled to walk through. God, I have such a thing for old cemeteries. They’re eerie and just a little spooky, but even with that feeling I still manage to feel respect for the dead. There was one gravestone that caught my eye. It was the one I could read the best, but it had the most beautiful epitaph I think I have ever read. It was a long poem that was obviously dedicated to the girl who had a passed away. I took a picture of it but the poem didn’t turn out. Would it be disrespectful to go back and copy down the poem? I can’t decide.

After the cemetery I walked up to Frog Pond and watched people ice skating for a while. I was trying to kill some time until 4 p.m. I had decided I would try out a church and that was the time of the contemporary service.

I am SO glad I went to church yesterday. For one thing, I was proud of myself for essentially googling Boston churches, picking one from a list, and working up the courage to just GO. It was a good feeling. I found a church that has a good ministry for people in their 20s, so I thought it might be a good way to meet more people and get involved in something in the city. And I thoroughly enjoyed the service. It was refreshing. People were friendly. I met a real-life writer who struck up a conversation with me.

And church was just comforting. I may not be the most devout Christian, but I have to believe in something. And what I believe is that God will provide and God will take care of me. He always has and I know that’s not going to change. Church yesterday reinforced that feeling and made me feel brave again. It’s so easy to get discourage when I think about having to continue job hunting. I just have to have faith that God will take care of me.

Here’s the gist of this very long post: I love Boston because I am doing this all on my own. I came here without knowing anyone. It’s like college, new beginnings, only on a larger scale. I can be exactly who I want to be. I can carve out my own niche, my own little place in this very large city. It makes me proud. And it’s satisfying. There’s something so gratifying about doing this all on my own. I’m glad I tried something new.

  1. Zoe Carney
    February 6, 2010 at 1:38 am

    Hey girl! So I noticed this blog on your fb a few weeks ago, and have been checking it every once in a while since then. It is so entertaining! It is so exciting that you had the opportunity to move to Boston. I would love to go there. I’ve heard it is beautiful 🙂 I pray the Lord leads you to a job soon!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

