Home > Thoughts > Figuring it all out.

Figuring it all out.

I’ve been in Boston for two weeks now, and it’s been absolutely fantastic. I’m pleased with where I chose to live, I love my part-time job (I’ll explain that in a minute) and I just love everything about this city so far. 

Yesterday was one of the prettiest days I’ve seen in this city. When I woke up the sun was shining and there wasn’t a cloud in the sky. The sky was the prettiest blue I’ve ever seen. I felt compelled to go run, and I did! Running in the city is exhilarating. It felt like I actually was getting somewhere when I ran. I love being on the street with all the buildings towering above me. It’s what I’ve always loved. I am such a city girl. 

That’s another thing I love about living in a city. I feel, so far, as though it is forcing me to be active. When I was back home I just felt so sluggish because I drove everywhere. But in Boston I pretty much walk everywhere. It takes longer, but I feel amazing. I think walking is good because it gives me a chance to slow down and think. I notice more things on the street. Like today, I was walking to Borders from my apartment (two miles, yeah!), and when I passed MassArt someone had written “Dream bigger, please. Make magic.” on the sign. I thought it was beautiful. It was exactly what I needed to see today. 

Since I’ve been here I’ve realized that while moving to a city was definitely one of my dreams it can’t possibly be a dream come true. Boston will change me. I know I’ll grow here and I’m excited, so incredibly excited, to experience new things, meet new people and see new places. But it’s time to figure out my next big dream and go for it as determinedly as I did moving to Boston. But while I’m in Boston? I’m going to experience the hell out of it. There’s so much to see and learn here. For example, I didn’t know that large, very large bodies of water ACTUALLY freeze. Ha. The Charles River is completely frozen. It looks amazing. And the pond in the Boston Public Garden? It’s frozen too. I walked over it last night! That was so cool. I’ve been ice skating twice since I moved, and I love it. 

I had my first encounter with a crazy bum. That was…slightly scary. 

Anyway. I can’t write well tonight. More later this week.

Categories: Thoughts Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. December 31, 2010 at 10:49 pm

Leave a Reply

