Home > Uncategorized > A Time for Hope.

A Time for Hope.

Well, it’s officially December 31, which means it’s probably about time for a 2009 recap.

January led me back for my second-to-last semester at Texas Tech. I was trying to forget a particularly painful and annoying Christmas break, and threw myself into spending time with friends and going to classes. I started playing racquetball regularly and working out a lot. The working out thing last about…a week. Yay, me.

 February kind of turned into the month from hell because of a stressful living situation. This really isn’t the time or the place to explain that, hence my hiatus from my blog for the entire month of February 2008.

March and April pretty much blend together. Nothing notable or exciting happened.

May, my sister graduated from high school. Yay, Elizabeth! I got a kitten: the cuteness that is Copper. I moved into a new apartment, where I got to live by myself, which I loved. I started my first semester of summer school, something I had never done before.

In June I lost my dear grandmother. It was my first experience with death, and it shook me to the core. I didn’t realize how final death is. I read a poem at her funeral. I tried not to flunk my classes. I also started an internship at the Lubbock Avalanche-Journal. Way (not) fun, but I met some really amazing people. I turned 21.

July was a bit rough. I learned how to be single, and ended up loving it. I went to Tulsa for a family reunion. It was awesome. I drank a little too much with my cousins, but I think that night forever bonded us and now I have a great relationship with them. I’m grateful for that. I met someone who changed my life because of his similar passion for getting out of Lubbock. It was intoxicating. I feel like July was my pivotal month; the time when I had to grow up and rely on myself the most. It was when I realized I could do what I wanted come January.

August? I went to Boston, and fell in love with the city. I spent time with my cousin, stumbled home, wandered, got lost, found myself, and met new people. I breathed in the air and took it in and decided I was coming back. I started my last semester at Tech, and I must say, it started with an effing bang.

September I took on two jobs that I loved. One I loved because it would look pretty good on a resume and the other I loved because it was where a bunch of my friends worked. I found out I’d been published in a magazine at Tech. Classes started revving up and for a little while I thought I was going to drown. I fought with my parents about what I wanted to do after graduation. I opened myself up to new experiences and allowed myself to get close to people.

October was another important month. It was the month I took control back. I sat down with my mom and dad and told them point-blank what I wanted to do: Move to Boston. I told them all I was asking from them was their support; that I didn’t want money. I just wanted them to back me up. I needed them to understand what I had to do. So I made a decision and started looking for apartments. October was also the month where I pulled my very first all-nighter, and this time it was due to work, not school. I didn’t sleep much in October.

November was the month of my mom’s birthday. I got her a dove necklace, in the hopes she would be peaceful about me moving 2,000 miles away. This was the first Thanksgiving without my grandmother, and my grandfather went to New York. I have to say, I am not a fan of not having either Mimi or Papa around for the holidays. It was hard. Again, because of school and work, I didn’t sleep much. I have never been so exhausted as I was this semester, to be completely honest.

December? I GRADUATED. Finally. And it was beautiful.

And now, here I am on December 31, 2009, and I am 10 days away from ripping myself away from a life I’ve always known and trying something new. I’ve never been so excited. Scared. Nervous. Happy. Peaceful. Jittery. Everything. I can’t wait to see what 2010 holds. I know it has to be incredible. It just has to.

Someone asked me tonight why New Year’s Eve is my favorite holiday, and I can answer that in one word: Possibility. Every day we mess up, we do things we regret. We make mistakes. We hurt people. Yes, good things happen, but bad things do too. New Year’s Eve is a chance to reflect on what happened in the past year and look ahead to the future. It gives us a chance to hope. It’s a new beginning. A fresh start. A chance to change.

And, really, what’s better than that? To me, Christmas is all about love. Tell people you love them on Christmas. New Year’s, though, is the time of hope. And new beginnings. Rebirth.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

