Home > Uncategorized > I think I’ll go to Boston…

I think I’ll go to Boston…

I cried a little on the way home today.

 

I cried because I’m happy, because I feel like things are finally coming together for me.

 

Long story short: I am moving to BOSTON in January. Did you hear that? I AM MOVING TO BOSTON.  In January. In three months. Three short months. I have three MONTHS left in Texas. That makes me a little sad. I will miss Texas, but this is what I need to do. This is what I’m supposed to do.

 

So anyway, if any of you know someone who knows someone who knows someone, etc., out there and can offer any advice/help/whatever, send them my way. I’ll take whatever words of encouragement I can get.

 

I know I’ve talked about this a lot…this whole moving thing. I was always going to do it, but I finally have the support of my parents. I talked to them about it this weekend, and it went so much better than I could ever have hoped. They even started offering advice, i.e., get a furnished place because there is no way in hell you want to drive a U-haul to Massachusetts. I agree. I’m definitely going with furnished. So now I have to think about selling my furniture come December. And  I  have to sell my car. No more driving for me! I’m all about walking or the T.

 

I have felt so…lost the last few months. And that has translated into too much drinking and too much feeling sorry for myself. All I wanted was for my parents to see that I am doing the right thing for myself. For a long time they did not understand, and it caused a lot of strife between us. I love my parents, and I wanted them to support me. They are incredible people and ultimately, I want to please them. I would have done this without their support, but I do not know what that would have done to our relationship. I think, finally, they get that this is all I want to do right now. I’m 21, single and moving to the city. Roughly 2,000 miles away. It’s a beautiful thing.

 

But I am terrified. Absolutely terrified. When I think about getting on that plane in January, I feel a little sick to my stomach. There are so many things I’m going to miss about Texas. I’m going to miss being around my family, my wonderful, beautiful family. I’ll miss my sweet Papa. And my Grandmommy and Grandaddy. (Yes, I realize I am 21 and still call them that. Shut it.) I’ll miss listening to Mom and Dad practice their music when I’m home. There’s so much I’m going to miss out on when I’m in Boston. I’ll miss my two best friend’s bachelorette parties. That alone makes me want to break down. I’d be there if I could guys. You know I would. In a heartbeat.

 

But I want to be the brave, remarkable, admirable girl who took off in search of her dreams DESPITE her fears. I’m going to do this. And I’m going to do it big.

I’m going to live. I will make new friends. I’m going to take chances. I will find a church and get involved in it. I’ll will explore my new city and be entranced by its beauty. I’m going to enjoy the cold weather and sit by the sea and marvel at vastness of the ocean. I’m going to go to Maine and be the first thing in the United States the sun touches when it rises. (From “A Separate Peace.” Read it. DO IT.) I’m going to take a day trip to New York. I’m going to travel up and down the east coast. I know I’ll be working (constantly) to make ends meet, but I will make sure and take the time for these adventures. I don’t want to get so caught up in everything I forget what it is about cities that intrigue me.

Want to know what it is? The sheer, endless possibility of the place. There are so many opportunities there that something has to happen for me. I will find where I belong. I know I will. I’ve never been so convinced of anything in my life.

 

January. Three months. And then I’ll be in Boston.

 

So, now? Now I have two months-ish to spend in Lubbock and finish out school. I’m going to spend it with my wonderful friends and make so many memories and take so many pictures. I’m not going to waste my time with people who don’t appreciate me. I’m going to spend time with my family and appreciate them. I’m going to take every opportunity for fun and take advantage of my time left in Texas.

 

It’s pretty sweet, isn’t it? I have a great life. And it’s about to get even better.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , , , ,
  1. Jessica
    October 18, 2009 at 11:55 pm

    YEA! I’m so excited for you Katie! We will miss you at the bachelorette party, but I know we will all look forward to reading about your adventures and catching up at the wedding in May.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

