Home > Thoughts > Unprepared.

Unprepared.

I know everyone who routinely reads this knows about my grandmother, and the fight she is swiftly losing against Alzheimer’s disease.

 

I know I’ve talked about it before. I know I’ve made it clear how much I  truly despise this disease and how much I hate watching the effects of it. For all my bravado, all my talking about how much I hated it, I always thought I had accepted it’s inevitable ending.

 

I was wrong.

 

Mom called me at 3:05 this past Monday, to tell me Mimi was not doing well. At first, having heard that many times before, I brushed it off to another case of everyone overreacting. But then she told me the hospice nurses had sat down with Papa this past weekend and explained a few things to him. I would really rather no go into this conversation.

 

I honestly thought I would be relieved when I heard this. Let me clarify: I thought I would be OK with Mimi passing away. I thought I’d be grateful that she was no longer prisoner in that body; in that mind that did her no good.

I was so wrong. I was not prepared for this. I’m sad.

 

I don’t really know what else to say. I told Mom and Dad I want to read something at the funeral.

Anyways, if anyone has any suggestions on something I can read, please let me know.

Categories: Thoughts Tags: , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

