Home > new york, Thoughts > The Stuff of Life

The Stuff of Life

I haven’t written anything in far too long. That changes now.

 

The month of February flew by in a blur of school, stress, worry, papers, interviews, tests, anxiety, reading, and finally having a social life. I don’t think I have ever been so stressed in my life. Thomas laughs at me (in a nice way!) because the slightest touch on my back or shoulders causes a wince of pain. I feel like I’ve been walking around with my shoulders constantly hunched for weeks now. However, spring break is in sight, and although this break can in absolutely NO way measure up to last, it will be nice to have a break from everything. I wish I knew how to handle stress better. It’s something to work on.

 

School has been going well, despite my having to, for the first time ever, (gasp!) drop a class. I keep trying to tell myself it was for my own good, but I can’t help being disappointed in myself. I’ve always been proud I had never dropped a class. Oh, well. Today is my last advising appointment EVER, if all goes according to the way I’ve planned it. With my internship this summer, and the two or three classes I plan to take in addition to that and another job, I should be able to take 12 hours in the fall and graduate in December. That’s 9 months, people. 9 months to the glorious graduation day.

 

My favorite class this semester, by far, is my Middle English literature class. Everything we have read in there has been undeniably enjoyable. Half the time I walk out of class lost in a daze of what we talked about. I love the stories about true love and kings and queens…the stuff Disney movies are made of. My favorite we’ve read so far is definitely The Lais of Marie de France. They’re the stereotypical true love, everything works out in the end type stories. I gobbled them up. When I took the midterm last week, I knew them like the back of my hand. That’s one of those classes I’m disappointed is going to be over soon.

 

I don’t really think I have a least favorite class. Everything is at least tolerable, and a lot of work. But it keeps me busy. It keeps me from thinking.

 

I’m sure everyone knows about Pandora radio. I love it so much! But…I discovered something a few weeks ago: You can add Broadway songs! Oh my God, I was so excited to find that out. Now, I have all the Broadway tunes from my favorite shows…RENT, Wicked, The Lion King, The Little Mermaid, and many more. But one of my absolute favorites (besides my obsession with RENT, which I’m sure everyone is aware of) is Beauty and the Beast. I must see it. That was my favorite Disney movie when I was little. I named my first and only cat Belle when I got her when I was four (she lived to be 15, that sweet girl.) I was Belle  for Halloween two years in a row, and at my sister’s costume themed birthday party. I had a Belle pillow and sheets set. Now that I’ve re-heard the lyrics from the songs, I am craving the movie, and if possible, the play. I think I’m like Belle: a book nerd and always a little on the outside of everything. But what good company to be in.

 

Last weekend I bought myself the RENT Dvd filmed live on Broadway from the last performance. It is amazing. It’s like being at the play again. I wonder why I love that show so much. I think maybe it’s because something about that lifestyle, the freedom, is appealing to me. Sometimes I just want to run away from everything I know and be somewhere on my own. Making it the way I want to, not the way someone is telling me to.

 

On that note: New York. Every single day, that city is still the thought that drives me. It is still my passion, the one thing that can undeniably cheer me up when I see a picture of the streets or skyline or something. To me, it’s beautiful. And I can’t wait to be a part of it. Just think, a mere year from now, I could be living there. That idea scares me to death, but it’s also exhilarating. For graduation, I want to go to New York for New Year’s Eve, even though it’s a total tourist trap. And I want to go job hunting. For real. I’ve decided that no matter what, I’m going. Even if I can’t do exactly what I want right away. It will all be OK.

 

I can’t believe it’s been a year since I went to New York. I miss it so much.

 

I’ve been trying to read a lot lately, and I can’t wait to read over spring break. Right now I’m reading Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates. I’ve heard it’s really depressing, but so far I am thoroughly enjoying it. I wanted to read it before I see the movie.

 

If anyone wants to, please keep my sweet Mimi in your thoughts and prayers. I talked to my mom the other day, and she said she’s just looking worse and worse. With all the atrocious diseases out there, I never knew Alzheimer’s could drag on and cause so much pain. But it does.

 

Anyways, I suppose that’s all for now. It won’t be so long between posts ever again.

Categories: new york, Thoughts
  1. March 10, 2009 at 12:10 am

    I wondered if you had just given up on the blog! Glad to see you’re back!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment