Home > Thoughts > January 20, 2009

January 20, 2009

These are my thoughts on yesterday’s events.

 

First of all, dear old George W. I think he is a man of amazing character. He is from my hometown, and my dad grew up across the street from him. I hold a special place in my heart for him, and I so wish I could have been in Midland yesterday to welcome him back.

I don’t think he always made the best decisions in his presidency, and to be honest, I didn’t always agree with many of the things he did. But I admire him for his steadfast resolve in his decisions. He never wavered, and always stayed strong. Had I been in his position…I don’t even know. I can’t imagine how he has held up for the past eight years. I feel sorry for him sometimes, sorry that he is criticized so widely. I hope history writers are fair to him.

While watching the inauguration events, I wanted to cry as I watched Bush and Obama interact with each other. I thought it was amazing Barack and Michelle walked George and Laura out to the helicopter. It seemed like a very respectful and amicable “passing of the baton.” I felt bad for Bush during Obama’s inaugural address, because he definitely ripped on Bush and his policies. It must have been hard to sit right there and listen to that, but as always, he held it together.

So I guess I want to say: Thank you, former President Bush. Thank you for showing strength and integrity always. I, for one, admire you and will always admire you, and I am so happy Texas is where you are staying.

 

Now onto Obama. I’ll be honest: I like him. I like his vigor, his vitality, his energy. I love the way he gives speeches. He captures his audience in a way I have never before seen. I’ve never been one to be overly interested in politics, but Obama makes me want to sit and listen. He seems like a good man, and I’d like to hope this country is in good, safe hands with him at the helm.

I’m not saying I agree with everything Obama has proposed; I definitely don’t. I just think he brings something new to the table. I’m not sure how his policies will turn out, and again, I hope everything works out for the best. It always does, so I suppose we’ll just have to hope for that.

 

So now the big issue: race. Everyone has been saying it’s a huge deal for an African American to be president, because it means the race barriers have been completely broken down. That is true. Completely. And I personally am in awe of the fact. It is beautiful society has changed so drastically just in the last 60 years. I think it shows how America is growing and becoming more open to change…kind of like Obama’s tagline or whatever: Change.

Then I talked to my dad yesterday, and he brought up something I had not thought about. He said that until Obama can be president WITHOUT everyone marveling over the fact he did it as a black man, race will always be an issue. This makes total sense to me too. I suppose it is mostly the excitement that he is the first that is causing all the fervor, but now, it’s open game for anyone. It’s all about equality, and now that America has proved it can happen, I think it’s time to stop obsessing over the fact he is the first black president, and go with it. It’s a great thing.

I’m excited to see what happens. Good or bad, the next four years should be something to watch. I’m also ready for the “honeymoon period” of Obama to be over. We’ll see.

 

I thought the actual inauguration was beautiful. The oath–a little awkward, but definitely memorable. The preacher that gave the benediction–it was perfect final touch.

I loved seeing the shots of people’s faces as they watched Obama speak. They were the faces of hope, right there. Ready for him to lead. It was inpiring, to say the least.

I was amazed, no, stunned, at the number of people that turned out the the inauguration. I would have LOVED to be in D.C. or New York, or anywhere cool to witness all of it.

—–

On a completely different note, things are going well. Amazing. Fantastic. So good I’m afraid to talk about it for fear it will all go away.

School is crazy. As of now, I have every minute planned out from here until Friday afternoon when I get my hair cut at 4:15. After that, I’m going home, changing into comfy clothes…and…writing my two papers that are due on Monday. Ha! You thought I’d get some down time. So did I. Oh well. I love my classes, and I figure the busier I am, the sooner the end of the semester will appear and I can get the hell out of Lubbock again. Or, at least, stay in Lubbock and have a super awesome internship.

We’ll see. 🙂

Categories: Thoughts Tags: , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

