Home > Uncategorized > Giving Thanks.

Giving Thanks.

I love the time of year when geese are flying. I love hearing them honk. That’s one of my favorite things in the world. My anthropology professor said a person’s favorite animal has qualities and characteristics that person believes is important. So what does that say about me? That I’ll have to move every six months?

 

Thanksgiving was good. I suppose. I enjoyed seeing all my family. But I really hate being the brunt of every joke. Does that mean I have a character flaw? I don’t think so. Like, OK guys, it’s cool the first 50 times. But then it’s not so funny. Whatever. And, especially, if you’re not part of my family, and you constantly make fun of me in front of my family, I’m not going to be that nice to you. Especially if I ask you to please stop several times and you keep going. Take note.

 

Dirty dishes are my pet peeve. I did all of them this weekend at home and after Thanksgiving dinner.

 

I wrote recently I didn’t think reality could ever be as good as a dream. But I was wrong. It can. But then it all exploded in my face, and I’m still trying to recover.

 

I don’t think this will be as simple as the last time.

 

So thank you, God, for letting me learn. Hopefully. Thank you for letting me have a supportive family. Thank you for not letting me drown when the rug keeps getting ripped out from under me. Thank you for letting me always believe the best in people and always getting my heart broken when they let me down.

 

That all sounds really terrible. Thank you for my amazing family. I love you guys beyond belief, and I’m sorry I’m not good at showing you. You mean the world to me, and I’d be lost without your support.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. December 1, 2008 at 1:42 am

    I love the Canada geese! In my science illustration class, we had to do detailed studies of birds, and the Canada geese are such gorgeous birds up close! Maybe the geese being your favorites means you’re smooth and can let things just roll off your back? Or that you can be both boisterous (honking goose) and serene (goose gliding across a still pond)… I’m putting way too much thought into this.

    Also, I’m with you on the dirty dishes pet peeve. I hate dealing with other peoples’ messes!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

