Home > Uncategorized > That One Thing.

That One Thing.

Joe Fox: Sometimes I wonder…
Kathleen Kelly: What?
[they stop]
Joe Fox: If I hadn’t been FoxBooks and you hadn’t been the Shop Around the Corner… and you and I had, just you know, met… Yeah. I would have asked for your phone number and I wouldn’t have been able to wait 24 hours before calling and asking, “How about coffee, drinks, dinner, a movie, for as long as we both shall live?”
Kathleen Kelly: Joe.
Joe Fox: And you and I would have never been at war. And the only things we would’ve fought about would be what video to rent on Saturday night.
Kathleen Kelly: Well, who fights about that?
Joe Fox: Well, some people. Not us.
Kathleen Kelly: We would never.
Joe Fox: …if only.

I love that movie. (You’ve Got Mail, by the way) It’s definitely in my top 10. That scene is one of the best parts of the movie. I love what Joe says to Kathleen about not being able to wait 24 hours before calling her. And then, of course at the end, Joe and Kathleen end up together. I think I like it so much because it’s one of those times where the one thing she wanted to happen, happened. Even though things rarely happen the way we want them to.

It happened to me once. I remember telling my mom, “That’s him. That’s the one boy I want date in high school.” And it happened. I still don’t understand why. 

I saw one of my favorite sights tonight: a flock of birds. I love watching birds fly! It was perfect tonight. I was out at sunset and they were silohuetted against the sun. It was so beautiful. My absolute favorite though, is seeing the geese fly in their “V”. I think it’s because my dad and I always used to watch that movie, “Fly Away Home.”

This is lame, but I remember when I was little I used to want to be a bird SO BAD. Mine and my sister’s swingset was perfectly situated in the backyard so that when we were swinging at our highest we could see over the fence and into the streets. I used to pump my legs so hard, trying to get to that highest spot. I would imagine letting go of the swing and floating over  the fence and the tree. I’d imagine just flying away and not looking back.

Hmm…maybe I’ve wanted to leave Texas longer than I thought. There’s something for me to ponder.

 

This post was unbelievably pointless. Sorry. Don’t think anything of it; it’s just pointless musings by me done late at night. 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

