Home > Thoughts > Change 2008

Change 2008

“Our stories are singular but our destinies are shared. The new dawn of America is at hand.” –President Elect Barack Obama

 

Using my newly acquired reporting skills (HA!), I got that quote out of Obama’s speech. This is the one that stood out the most to me. I liked it. I may not agree with everything that Obama says, and I may not have agreed with everything McCain stood for. But Obama is what we’ve got, so don’t you think it’s time we stand together and face it? UNITED States.

However, I’m not one to talk politics. Frankly, I get lost in them. I can’t debate on issues, so don’t even bring those to the table on this. All I’m saying is, I’m eager for the change. Watching Obama speaking to the crowd in Chicago a few minutes ago reduced me to tears. Because it gave me the strongest feeling of patriotism. Think about it-everyone in the world is going to be watching us now. Those countries are going to wishing, hoping, waiting to see if we, as a country, will fall. Do we really want to do that?  

I don’t know what’s going to happen. It’s certainly not all going to be good but some good will come of this. I have faith in that. God’s not finished with this country…and I think that everyone who is saying that is crazy. Be optimistic. And Texas is not going to secede; that’s stupid.

So that’s my little talk about politics. Probably the only one that will ever be seen on this page.

 

And just a side note: I also think it’s stupid for people to stop talking to other people because of differing views. Chew on that.

Categories: Thoughts Tags: , , ,
  1. November 5, 2008 at 1:15 am

    I love all the people who are suddenly saying, “I’m moving to Canada! I’m moving to Mexico!” Really, people, let me know when that’s happening; I’ll help you pack.

    America has survived good presidents and bad presidents in the past, and there will be both in the future.

    Colossians says, “For by him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things were created by him and for him. He is before all things, and in him all things hold together.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

