Home > school, Uncategorized > Safe Harbor

Safe Harbor

September 23, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Well this week started off with quite a bang. My weekend was amazing; lots of friends, sleep, reading, and just doing things that made me happy. In fact, I would go so far as to say that my weekend was perfect. My sister was in town Sunday for a soccer game, and I was soo excited to see her! Then, my parents made it even better by calling and saying that  they were going to stop in Lubbock on their way home. (They’d been out of town for about a week and a half, and I hadn’t spoken to them for that long). But I was so happy to see them!!

Sunday with my family didn’t turn out how I expected. I won’t go into any more details on here.

Yesterday was pretty rough. I was up on campus by 9, and had class all the way until 3, with no break in between. I went to work at 4 until 10, so it was a very long day. God definitely took care of me yesterday. I’m finally beginning to learn just how much strength God will give me if I just ask. On my way to work, I called my mom and fell apart, because I have so much to do this week. No lie–one test, one project, one paper, interview 3 people and outline story, 2 take-home quizzes, Spanish compositions and I think that might be it. It just feels like a lot, especially because I work 3 out of 5 week nights.

But anyways, I was talking to my mom, and, sadly, completely lost it. Ten minutes before work, I was sitting in my car thinking, “How am I supposed to go in there and actually help and talk to people?” I begged God to help me out, and I managed to make it through the night, good attitude intact. It was amazing really. I even enjoyed myself at work. I truly do like this job. This is probably really silly, but I knew everything would be okay when I walked in to work and my absolute favorite song was playing. “Dust” by Royworld. It was just one of those small little moments where I had to smile because I knew someone was looking out for me.

I’m making an effort these days to be a better person. I think that I, like all people, have issues and habits that I need to fix.

I don’t really know what the point to this post was. I think, I just want to convey how much I’m learning to rely on God. It gives me such a grounded feeling to know that He is and will always take care of me. A safe place, even when things in my life are currently nuts.

“It is better to trust in the Lord than put your confidence in man.” Psalm 118:8

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

