Home > Uncategorized > Forcing the Issue

Forcing the Issue

September 18, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

“Do you suppose love is the aspect of the human condition most sought after?” 

This is a line from a book that I worked on this summer. When I read it, I was stopped in my tracks by the truth in these words. I mean, come on. Everyone wants to be loved, everyone wants to have a place of importance in someone else’s life. Everyone wants that special someone, that one person that’s more important than all the rest. I know I do sometimes! Loneliness is a hard thing, and when we don’t have that special love, I think that we do anything we can to find it. But I feel like trying to find it is worse than waiting for it to find you. I think too often we try to make someone into something they’re just not meant to be to us. You can’t force love.

“Why do we stay with lovers,

Who we know, down deep,

Just aren’t right?” –Jonathan Larson, “Louder Than Words”

 

I’m beginning to think that some people are too desperate to find themselves in others. You know what I mean? We think we’ll be complete with someone else. I’m not saying I don’t ever do this. I’m making a conscious effort these days to be okay being single. And I’m getting there! It’s nice to have my independence, and to know that when I graduate, I answer only to myself and what I want to do. No one else’s plans will figure into my decision, I’m determined of that. I know that sounds harsh, but it’s happened to me before, and it’s time for me to do what I want.

For all my friends out there that are engaged, you know how happy I am for all of you!! I think this was more for me to get some of my frustration with myself off of my chest.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

