Home > school > Faith in the Workplace

Faith in the Workplace

September 17, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

I saw the absolute weirdest thing on the way to my car after classes today…there was a guy riding a motorized cooler. I’m not even kidding. He was just zooming along the sidewalk, with the handle pulled up to create a sort of steering wheel. It was pretty entertaining to watch the expressions of the people he passed on the way.

I started my new job today. Well, not technically new, just new to Lubbock. I worked at New York and Company in Dallas this summer, and I just finally transferred my employed to the store here. It’s…pretty intense. My store in Dallas was quieter, because it was in an outdoor shopping center so it didn’t get as much traffic. But geez, I did not expect the Lubbock store to be so much busier! It was nice though, because the time flew, and I never had a moment to sit or slow down. I really liked that. I hate boring jobs. But oh, my goodness, my feet hurt so bad. This is when I need a boyfriend, so he can give me a foot and back rub! Haha. (Nah, I’m totally content being single.)

I really like working at New York and Company. It’s kind of a female camaraderie thing, because mostly only girls work there, and the clothes are all womens. At the store in Dallas, I worked with a great group of girls. They were so much fun. I’m hoping I get along as well with the girls at the Lubbock store. It’s kind of hard to get used to a new place though…but I think it’ll work out pretty well. I’m optimistic. I’m not going to screw up another job.

School is picking up at a maddening pace. I simply can’t believe that it’s already the fourth week of school…that’s a little sick! But I’m glad it’s flying. However, I have so much to get done tonight, I’m looking at a definite late night. And my first test is Friday, blah.

I started going to this really great church this Sunday. It’s nice to be able to choose on whether or not I want to go. All my life, I’ve had church stuffed down my throat. I went to a Christian school for most of my life, and it made me resent anything related to religion/faith for a long, long time. But this summer changed me. When I got that internship, that golden ticket out of this town, I knew that I was being saved. God knew how badly I needed to get away for a few months. But it really proved to me that someone is looking out for me, and I’ve never felt so safe or loved. I found this incredible church in Flower Mound and I went every single week this summer. It just gave me an amazing feeling of groundedness, that I was in an unfamiliar place but still hearing something familiar. So I decided to continue attending church this semester. And I’ve already met a really nice person at this church! So I’m looking forward to this coming Sunday. 🙂 And that’s how I know I’ve changed. I used to dread Sundays. But now, Sundays leave me feeling refreshed, like I’m ready to take on the new week. And that amazing feeling of being taken care of hasn’t left yet. God is good.

Sorry this blog is a little loopy. My mind is all over the place!!

Categories: school Tags: , , , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

